Main Jacfa Image

People on Committees

Academic Year 2012-2013

Academic Council

Academic Council is a sub-committee of the Board of Governors which provides advice to the College on all academic issues.

Faculty Representatives:

• Violaine Arès, HPR
• Ute Beffert, Nursing
• Daniel Gosselin, French
• Roger Haughey, HPR 
• Alex Panassenko, Mathematics
• Karl Raudsepp, Music
• William Russell, HEPS
• Abe Sosnowicz, English
• Lawrence Szigeti, English
• Christopher Tromp, Physics
• James Vanstone, HEPS — Chair

Permanent Substitutes:

• Suzanne Black, Chemistry
• Roy Fu, HPR
• Robbyn Seller, Anthropology
• Jessica Vandervort, HEPS

Faculty Labour Relations Committee

The Faculty Labour Relations Committee (aka CRT) is where JACFA representatives and the College administration meet to discuss and resolve issues concerning the application or interpretation of the collective agreement, including the allocation of teaching resources to disciplines and departments.

Faculty Representatives:

• Alex Panassenko, Mathematics - Labour Relations spokesperson
• Ute Beffert, Nursing
• Stephen Bryce, Geography
• Julien Charest, HEPS
• Daniel Gosselin, French
• Richard Masters, Mathematics
• Faye Trecartin, English

Faculty Professional Development Committee

FPDC is a parity committee of JACFA and the College that establishes faculty professional development priorities and allocates the professional development fund.

Faculty Representatives:

• Pierre Dussol, Theatre
• Richard Masters, Mathematics
• Alice McLeod, Mathematics
• John Serrati, HEPS
• James Vanstone, HEPS

Financial Review Committee

The JACFA Financial Review Committee meets with JACFA’s Treasurer to review the revenues and expenditures of the association once each semester, and makes recommendations, if necessary, to the Executive and to the General Assembly.

• Roy Fu, HPR
• Christine Jacobs, ILT
• Caroline Viger, Physics
• Richard Masters, JACFA —Treasurer (ex-officio)

Sustainability Committee

The Sustainability Committee advises the College on environmental sustainability issues.

Faculty Representatives:
• Paul DiStefano, HPR
• Matt Hill, Business Administration
• Ryan Young, Creative Arts

Harassment Awareness Committee

The Harassment Awareness Committee’s work is to advise the College and to raise awareness within the college community about the issue of sexual or psychological harassment.

Faculty Representatives:
• Julien Charest, HEPS
• Faye Trecartin, English

Research & Development Committee

The R&D committee meets to review and recommend approval of all research projects conducted at the college.

Faculty Representatives:
• Murray Bronet, Chemistry
• Linda Knight, Psychology/Correctional Intervention
• Nathaniel Lasry, Physics
• Robbyn Seller, Anthropology


Back to Top

Last update: February 14, 2014 [ap]