Main Jacfa Image

People on Committees

Academic Year 2010-2011

Academic Council

Academic Council is a sub-committee of the Board of Governors which provides advice to the College on all academic issues.

Faculty Representatives:

• Ute Beffert, Nursing
• Suzanne Black, Chemistry
• Stephen Bryce, Geosciences 
• Daniel Gosselin, French
• Alice McLeod, Mathematics
• J.P. Parkhill, Biology
• Bert Somers, HEPS
• Abe Sosnowicz, English
• Lawrence Szigeti, English
• Bruce Tracy, Physics
• James Vanstone, HEPS — Chair

Permanent Substitutes:

• Violaine Arès, HPR
• Tania Peres, Chemistry
• Jessica Vandervort, HEPS

Faculty Labour Relations Committee

The Faculty Labour Relations Committee (aka CRT) is where JACFA representatives and the College administration meet to discuss and resolve issues concerning the application or interpretation of the collective agreement, including the allocation of teaching resources to disciplines and departments.

Faculty Representatives:

• Jim Leeke, HEPS - Labour Relations spokesperson
• Ute Beffert, Nursing
• Stephen Bryce, Geosciences
• Daniel Gosselin, French
• Ed Osowski, HEPS
• Alex Panassenko, Mathematics
• Faye Trecartin (English)

Faculty Professional Development Committee

FPDC is a parity committee of JACFA and the College that establishes faculty professional development priorities and allocates the professional development fund.

Faculty Representatives:

• Pierre Dussol, Theatre
• Alice McLeod, Mathematics
• John Serrati, HEPS
• James Vanstone, HEPS
• [vacant - byelection December 8, 2010]

Financial Review Committee

The JACFA Financial Review Committee meets with JACFA’s Treasurer to review the revenues and expenditures of the association once each semester, and makes recommendations, if necessary, to the Executive and to the General Assembly.

• Gordon Spicer, Business
• Remi Cardinal, Business
• Christine Jacobs, ILT
• Alex Panassenko, JACFA —Treasurer (ex-officio)

Sustainability Committee

The Sustainability Committee advises the College on environmental sustainability issues.

Faculty Representatives:
• Jessica Burpee, Geography
• David Hill, Phys. Ed.
• Ryan Young, Creative Arts

Sexual Harassment Committee

The Sexual Harassment committee’s work is to advise the College and to raise awareness within the college community about the issue of sexual harassment.

Faculty Representatives:
• Faye Trecartin (English)
• Daniel Gosselin (French)

College Information Technology Committee

The CITC develops and reviews guidelines, meets with department chairs and advises the College on priorities for the information technology capital budget.

Faculty Representatives:
• David Desjardins (HEPS)
• Chris Chadillon (Computer Science)
• Roberta Silerova (Chemistry)

Psychological Harassment Committee

The Psychological Harassment Committee’s work is to advise the College and to raise awareness within the college community about the issue of psychological harassment.

Faculty Representatives:
• Faye Trecartin (English)
• Daniel Gosselin (French)

Research & Development Committee

The R&D committee meets to review and recommend approval of all research projects conducted at the college.

Faculty Representatives:
• Ute Beffert (Nursing)
• Murray Bronet (Chemistry)
• Linda Knight (Psychology/Correctional Intervention)
• Lawrence Szigeti (English)

Back to Top

Last update: August 18, 2011 [ap]